Reese’s Reading List: Five Reese’s Book Club Picks That You Must Read If You Liked Where The Crawdads Sing

Reese Witherspoon’s book club is famous for its carefully picked female-centric novels. At Kunzum, we love Reese’s recommendations! Here are our favourites from Reese’s 2021-22 picks. By Paridhi Badgotri

A movie still from Where The Crawdads Sing, based on the novel by Delia Owens.

If you liked Where The Crawdads Sing, you will love reading other titles recommended by Reese’s Book Club. This celebrity reading list celebrates womanhood by picking great books—one each month—written by women or featuring strong female protagonists. Along the way, the book club introduces its vast fan base to new voices and amplifies the reach of great stories.

We went through the monthly picks of this unique book club from 2021-22 to curate five books with female narratives that shine. 

Reese’s Reading List

The Island of Missing Trees by Elif Shafak 

Narrated by a fig tree, The Island of Missing Trees is a riveting story of two lovers in the middle of an ethnic conflict and the environmental destruction that resulted from the partition of Cyprus. The fig tree unravels its memories and reveals buried historical events, while also exploring the inherited pain of violence in humans and other living beings. 

The Island of Missing Trees by Elif Shafak 
The Island of Missing Trees by Elif Shafak 

Seven Days in June by Tia Williams

Two authors, Shane and Eva, meet unexpectedly at a literary event, which triggers a shared trauma: they once spent one week madly in love in their teenage days. While the two writers pretend to be strangers at the event, they can’t hide the fact that they have been writing to each other through their books for years.

Seven Days in June by Tia Williams
Seven Days in June by Tia Williams

The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams

In the very first Oxford English Dictionary, the word bondmaid was found missing Taking this little snippet of historical trivia and loads of research on the women whose contribution to the dictionary was largely overlooked, Pip Williams has constructed an endearing and powerful story centred around a little girl who loves to collect words under the table where her father works as a lexicographer.

The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams
The Dictionary of Lost Words by Pip Williams

The Christie Affair by Nina de Gramont

Set in 1925, this book explores the mysterious 11-day disappearance of Agatha Christie and the events that led up to it. As the title suggests, it involved a woman, Nan O’Dea, who infiltrated the life of the famous mystery-novel author and her husband Archie. The only question: how far did she go in order to achieve what she wanted?

The Christie Affair by Nina de Gramont
The Christie Affair by Nina de Gramont

Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Daisy is a girl coming of age in LA in the 1960s. With her passion for rock music and an increasingly hedonistic lifestyle, her dreams of becoming a rockstar are coming true Then she runs into Billy Dunne of The Six. The scintillating tale delves into the power of fame, beauty, and drugs in the iconic age of rock ‘n’ roll. 

Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid
Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Related: A Bookish Reading List: Five Books That Tell the Story of a Bookshop or Library

Leave a comment