6 Vintage Editions of Jane Austen’s Novels That We Can’t Get Over

Known for her six novels, Jane Austen has fired the imagination of generations of young readers with her writing standing out for its comedy, self-awareness and realistic detailed portrayals of characters and their relationships. During her lifetime, four of her novels attained moderate success, with the remaining two being published posthumously. However, her novels came into the limelight after her death and gradually gained wide acclaim and readership. Since then her books have rarely been out of print. Over the years, many editions of her novels have hit the markets, but perhaps one of the most beautiful sets to come out was a set of paperback editions with French flaps and a series of lively patterned watercolour motifs on the covers. Their beautiful covers and spines lend them perfectly for display on a beautiful bookshelf. Of course, you can gift them also.

Northanger Abbey

Northanger Abbey is Jane Austen’s satirical swipe at the gothic novel even as this classic bursts with sly subversive wit.

Catherine Morland is a young girl with a very active imagination. Her naivety and love of sensational novels lead her to approach the fashionable social scene in Bath and her stay at nearby Northanger Abbey with preconceptions that have embarrassing and entertaining consequences.

Mansfield Park

Fanny Price’s rich relatives offer her a place in their home so that she can be properly brought up. However, Fanny’s childhood is a lonely one as she is never allowed to forget her position. Her only ally is her cousin Edmund. When her cousins befriend two glamorous new young people – Henry and Mary Crawford – who have arrived in the area, Edmund starts to grow close to Mary and Fanny finds herself dealing with feelings she has never experienced before.


This was the last novel that Jane Austen completed before her death. Persuasion marks a break with Austen’s previous works, both in the more biting, even irritable satire and in the regretful, resigned outlook of its heroine, Anne Elliot, in the first part of the story. Against this is set the energy and appeal of the Royal Navy, which symbolises the possibility of a more outgoing, engaged, and fulfilling life.

Pride and Prejudice

Set in England in the early 19th century, Pride and Prejudice tells the story of Mr and Mrs Bennet’s five unmarried daughters after the rich and eligible Mr Bingley and his status-conscious friend, Mr Darcy, move into their neighbourhood. The story follows Elizabeth Bennet as she deals with issues of manners, upbringing, morality, education, and marriage in the society of the landed gentry of the British Regency.

Sense and Sensibility

This book follows two sisters – Elinor and Marianne and how they handle society after their father’s death. While Elinor is prudent, Marianne is impetuous. Each must learn from the other after they are they are forced by their father’s death to leave their home and enter into the contests of polite society. The must navigate through the sea of society which includes the charms of unsuitable men and the schemes of rival ladies who are set on thwarting their plans for success. Together they attempt to find a way to happiness.


Jane Austen’s masterpiece, Emma mixes the sparkle of her early books with a deep sensibility, as it follows Emma, a young, rich and independent girl who decides not to get married. What is she going to do instead? Help organise her acquaintances’ love affairs. Her plans for the matrimonial success of her new friend Harriet, however, lead her into complications that ultimately test her own detachment from the world of romance.

Pick up any or all of Jane Austen’s books from any Kunzum store or WhatsApp +91.8800200280 to order. Buy the book(s) and the coffee’s on us.

Leave a comment