Fredrik Backman’s ‘The Beartown Trilogy’

Ever wondered what lies beneath the surface of a seemingly tranquil small town? Well, let me introduce you to the ‘Beartown Trilogy’ by Fredrik Backman.

What would you do if you had to choose between a project that took you years to build and your own daughter? Or if you had to decide between standing up for the truth and securing your financial future? Will these questions even register as a conflict? Because sometimes the right thing to do is simply the right thing to do.

Nestled deep within the forest lies Beartown, a small community whose heartbeat pulses against the rhythm of ice hockey. Beartown, where the stakes are high and the bonds are deep. Beartown, which could be your town or mine or every other town that ever existed. In this trilogy, readers are transported into a world where the confines of a hockey rink become both battleground and sanctuary, where the hopes and dreams of a town rest upon the shoulders of teenage boys. Yet beneath the surface of this seemingly idyllic setting lies, you guessed it, complexities. From the haunting spectre of a violent act that shakes the town’s core in “Beartown,” to the simmering tensions and ethical quandaries that permeate its sequel, “Us Against You,” and the exploration of resilience and redemption in “The Winners.” Through the lens of a tight-knit community grappling with their own problems, loyalty, and the enduring power of sports, Backman weaves a masterful narrative that poses profound questions about identity, morality, and the indomitable human spirit.

Let me tell you even more:


The fate of the town intertwines with the dreams of its junior ice hockey team. In Fredrik Backman’s “Beartown,” the ice rink stands as a symbol of hope and aspiration, where young players like Kevin, Amat, and Benji aim to seize victory in the national semi-finals. Yet, amidst the excitement of the game, a violent incident shatters the town’s tranquility, leaving a young girl traumatized and Beartown in disarray. Backman navigates the complexities of loyalty, friendship, and responsibility in a story that transcends the boundaries of a mere town and a game, delving into the intricate fabric of human relationships and the decisions that define us.

Us Against You

As tensions mount between Beartown and its rival, Hed, in “Us Against You,” the resilience of the community is put to the test once more. Threatened by the disbandment of their beloved hockey team, Beartown faces off against old adversaries, while a newcomer brings a glimmer of hope for redemption. Against a backdrop of escalating animosity and simmering rivalries, Backman crafts a narrative that explores the depths of human connection and the enduring spirit of a town clinging to its identity amidst adversity.

The Winners

In “The Winners,” the aftermath of past events continues to haunt Beartown, echoing through the lives of its residents. Against the backdrop of a ferocious storm and renewed tensions with Hed, old wounds reopen and new challenges emerge. As Maya and Benji return home, they confront personal struggles amidst the town’s turmoil, while a fourteen-year-old seeks vengeance for his sister’s death. Backman’s poignant exploration of forgiveness and sacrifice culminates in a powerful conclusion to the series, as Beartown grapples with its past and confronts the difficult choices that shape its future.

Read it and let me know what you chose. Did the answers come to you easily? Were you able to stick with them?

Pick up any book from Fredrik Backman’s ‘The Beartown Trilogy’ from any Kunzum store or WhatsApp +91.8800200280 to order. Buy the book(s) and the coffee’s on us.

Leave a comment